Life On Purpose

Really, again? January 30, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — zoecline @ 6:54 pm

I know those of you who know me at all know I was shocked when I found out we are expecting our third precious child in July. But what you may not really know about me is that I really dislike pregnancy, and I really don’t have any totally valid reasons. I hate how my neck and collar bone meld into one fluid filled item, how neither regular clothes nor maternity clothes flatter, the way I have 2 pairs of shoes out of 30 that are comfortable and can contain the swollen stumps called feet at the end of my legs, and how I struggle to paint my toenails. I’m so lucky because I don’t throw up, pass out or get bed bound. But still yet, I have a hard time enjoying this state of being.

Don’t get me wrong, there are things I like about it too-such as feeling baby move and going to the all-exciting 18 week ultrasound. I feel guilty for not liking it more.

I am determined that, since I am finally past the initial shock, it’s time to enjoy the bump. All the dislikes won’t go away, but this child is a gift. After all, there are only 9 months to enjoy motherhood that don’t involve sleepless nights, feeding woes, blowout diapers and seemingly endless bouts of crying. What’s not to like?!

 

Leave a Reply

