Life On Purpose

Day 13 : Intensity Matters July 6, 2013

What is the ideal workout? One that is short, burns fat and gets results, right? Is there such a thing?

YES!

It is called high intensity interval training (HIIT). The beauty of this type of workout is that it’s short and you can do it at home without buying any special equipment. As I have said before, I’ve been asked by a lot of people how I lost so much weight and got in shape. This is my story: HIIT 5 days a week + excellent nutrition!

The idea of HIIT is that your heart rate stays elevated throughout your workout while still performing strength-building exercises. It’s a triple threat: cardio, strength & intervals all in one. Three ingredients to effective exercise smashed into one workout. HIIT workouts burn fat for up to 2 days after your workout. Many HIIT workouts also incorporate plyometrics (jump training) which also boosts your fat burning for several hours after exercising. The anatomy of HIIT is usually a set of exercises done over a certain period of time and repeated as a circuit. For example:

50 seconds jumping jacks/10 seconds rest
50 seconds lunges/10 seconds rest
50 seconds push-ups/10 seconds rest
50 seconds squats/10 seconds rest

Repeat Circuit 3 times

Will 12 minutes really change your body? Yes. How do I know? It worked for me.

You can spend one hour at the gym or you can spend 15 minutes at home…yeah it seems like a no-brainer to me too! It isn’t easy. It is hard. it will challenge you. You will be dripping with sweat and short of breath. But it will change your body. And you will get stronger.

Some suggestions:

1. Modify to your level. Push-ups can be done from your knees, and you don’t need weight as a beginner. Also, jumps can be done as steps.

2. Try just one or two rounds as a beginner.

3. Check out the free interval timer app for iPhone if you want to do these workouts without following a video. The 7 minute workout or Sworkit apps are also great!

4. If something hurts your back or knees STOP!

Check out the daily hiit or Zuzka Light to get started!

I never expected to “like” these workouts, but as I gained strength and added weight, I found that I LOVED them! I hate missing my workouts now because I think they are FUN! Keep an open mind and try it. That’s my challenge to you.

 

Leave a Reply

